Oats in the North, Wheat from the South: The history of British Baking: savoury and sweet

Add to wishlistAdded to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0

‘I love this book… another extraordinary piece of work Regula Ysewijn.’ Jamie OliverOats in the North, Wheat from the South is Regula Ysewijn’s evocative, meticulously researched and beautifully photographed love letter to the history, heritage and ingenuity of British baking culture. Regula shows us how the diverse climate of the British Isles influenced the growth of cereal crops and the development of a rich regional baking identity. She explains how imports of spices, sugar, treacle, fortified wines and citrus fruits added flavour, colour and warmth to a baking culture much adored and replicated all over the world. The book takes the reader on a guided tour of British cake lore, exploring the British affection for tea and toast, as well as the one small Yorkshire town’s 200-year-old obsession with baking the world’s largest meat pie.Each of the timeless recipes is accompanied by stories of the landscape, history, traditions and legends of Great Britain, from Saffron cake, Cornish pasties, Bakewell tart, Victoria sandwich cake, Lardy cake, Banbury apple pie, Welsh Bara brith, Clapcake to the many oatcakes, gingerbreads, buns and bread rolls such as Aberdeen buttery rowies, Kentish huffkins and traditional loaves. The perfect gift for fans of Paul Hollywood, Mary Berry and The Great British Bake Off. ‘While this is a book that you just long to bake from instantly, it is also one to be read, and savoured, as it brings alive the link between culture, climate and cuisine.’ Nigella Lawson’A true love letter to the food Britain does best’ Felicity Cloake, THE GUARDIAN

Amazon.co.uk Price: £11.65 (as of 05/10/2022 16:01 PST- Details)

Buy product

Category:

‘I love this book… another extraordinary piece of work Regula Ysewijn.’ Jamie OliverOats in the North, Wheat from the South is Regula Ysewijn’s evocative, meticulously researched and beautifully photographed love letter to the history, heritage and ingenuity of British baking culture. Regula shows us how the diverse climate of the British Isles influenced the growth of cereal crops and the development of a rich regional baking identity. She explains how imports of spices, sugar, treacle, fortified wines and citrus fruits added flavour, colour and warmth to a baking culture much adored and replicated all over the world. The book takes the reader on a guided tour of British cake lore, exploring the British affection for tea and toast, as well as the one small Yorkshire town’s 200-year-old obsession with baking the world’s largest meat pie.Each of the timeless recipes is accompanied by stories of the landscape, history, traditions and legends of Great Britain, from Saffron cake, Cornish pasties, Bakewell tart, Victoria sandwich cake, Lardy cake, Banbury apple pie, Welsh Bara brith, Clapcake to the many oatcakes, gingerbreads, buns and bread rolls such as Aberdeen buttery rowies, Kentish huffkins and traditional loaves. The perfect gift for fans of Paul Hollywood, Mary Berry and The Great British Bake Off. ‘While this is a book that you just long to bake from instantly, it is also one to be read, and savoured, as it brings alive the link between culture, climate and cuisine.’ Nigella Lawson’A true love letter to the food Britain does best’ Felicity Cloake, THE GUARDIAN

Specification: Oats in the North, Wheat from the South: The history of British Baking: savoury and sweet

Author
Logo